My First Experience on Periscope

Hello Branding Cats,

The weekend is almost over, I hope you have had fun. If not, then may your next personal day be evolutionary. As some of you know, I like to stay current on social media and see the new wave, though I’m not always in the water when it hits. Last night I changed that.

Periscope, for those who don’t know, is a live broadcasting of oneself via their mobile phone. No rules, no guidelines, just you and your phone. It’s an invitation into your life. Great engagement. I watched a few videos, many of which were at parties around the country and even one cat at Hollywood Studios in Disney. After an hour or two I jumped in with my first video.

Because I joined that day not many people checked me out. I didn’t know what to do, it was a real test in my broadcasting ability as it was truly just me. No script, no cue, no prep. Just me. I spent about 20 minutes talking about branding and social engagement. Then called it a night and thanked the few people who spent their time listening to me.

Will I broadcast again? Yes, I will. Will I spend a few minutes prepping? YES! But I think the ability to be you and be brave in showing who you truly are is how you truly connect on a social platform like Periscope.

Leave a Reply

