Creepypasta is New Age Storytelling

Hello Branding Cats,

One of my favorite classes in college was Mythology, it was one of the few classes that made me feel a real metaphysical connection to my ancestors. I have family heirlooms, of course, and I know which countries my forefathers traveled from and I know my parents. But the stories that was told over an open flame, the legends that spread among the people and stood against the test of time, that spoke to me more than the physical possessions.

Recently, I found myself on YouTube; no, I wasn’t procrastinating… Okay, maybe. I didn’t plan on visiting the website, it was a subconscious reaction when I was trying to find the website I was looking for. I was only on one page and that was enough to make me think to write this article. The video that was recommended was not a TEDtalk or a DIY instructions, it was a top ten list. A top ten list for the scariest Creepypastas. I didn’t click on it, I’ve read a few Creepypasta stories to know not to click on the scary ones. For those who aren’t familiar, Creepypasta’s are a collection of online urban legends, a complete user-content website that provides a platform for anyone to tell a scary story. Some of the stories developed a cult following and gathered negative mainstream attention. But I must protest the mainstream media’s witch hunt: Creepypasta is my generation’s new innovation!

Storytelling is mankind’s oldest tradition, and is the secret to successful branding. A good story will resonate throughout the ages, and that is what Creepypasta’s are, stories. But how does a scary story showcase the innovation of a generation? Well, simply look at the development of storytelling itself. Don’t have time to spend in an Archaeology class? Alright, let’s highlight the last hundred yeas of cinema.

In 1925, the Phantom of The Opera took stage. It’s visual effects on Lon Chaney is still remarkable by today’s standards.
In 1960, Psycho made showers a scare zone. The sexual overtones and psychological development assisted the counterculture.
In 1973, The Exorcist was called. the topic of religion was able to be discussed openly.
In 1984, A Nightmare on Elm Street became real. Dreams and meanings went from the palm reader’s tent to the living room.

Critical thinking, creative freedom and the ability to fuse it together is what makes a good story. If a story promotes a raw, unfiltered emotion from you, then the story did it’s job and deserves to be told. Creepypastas are scary, and most of them have a devout following. That shows how good of storytellers my generation is, that with a blank space and a prompt we create something that resonates throughout the hive. Each generation has a story to tell, and it has it’s own challenges. With the heaping anti-millennial articles around here, we needed to show how good we really are.

Now go read a creepypasta, and remember that my generation wrote them. Just keep the lights on. Stay P.U.N.K

Leave a Reply

